Actor Suriya also joins the Oscar membership committee

Suriya became the first Tamil actor from South India to be invited to join the membership committee of the Oscar organizers.

By becoming a member of the Oscar Academy, Suriya will be eligible to vote at the annual Oscar Awards held in Los Angeles.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has invited 397 artists and executives to its 2022 class

Bollywood star Kajol from the documentary Rintu Thomas, Writing with Fire, directors Sushmit Ghosh, Rintu Thomas (of Writing with Fire fame)

and writer and filmmaker Reema Kagti have also been invited to join the academy.

Malayalam Rintu Thomas and Sushmit Ghosh won the award for Writing with Fire,

which competed in the best documentary feature category at this year's Academy Awards.

Surya's films like Jai Bheem and Soorarai Prot, which were released on Amazon Prime Video,

also gained international fame. Reema Kagti is known for Hindi films like Talash, Gully Boy and Gold.

The class of 2022 will include 71 Oscar nominees and 15 winners.

 44% women are preferred in the 2022 membership elections.

In this year's election, 50% of the electorate came from 53 countries outside the United States,

with 37% representation for racialized groups, according to the Academy's statement.

From the Indian film industry, Oscar winner A.R. Rahman, Amitabh Bachchan, 

superstars Shah Rukh Khan, Vidya Balan, Aamir Khan, Salman Khan and Ali Afzal

and producers Aditya Chopra, Guneet Monga, Ekta Kapoor and Shobha Kapoor are already members of the Academy.